Nervous Anticipation…

Tomorrow is Eli’s big day.He has his intake evaluation by the out of district school that both the school district and I agreed to. It’s a dream school for parents of kids with special needs. It has a great assistive technology program, low teacher/aide to student ratio, great music/drama department, but most importantly it is all day inclusive program. Extended school year helps too!

Now the reason I am a nervous wreck is that Eli is notoriously horrendous with any type of evaluations. He will cry and whine, refuse to do anything that is requested of him and cling to my neck for dear life. He has no real words to express himself so it’s difficult to know what he feels. My guess is fear.

20120105-001100.jpg

Why? I am not sure… I think it’s because he has been poked and prodded pretty much since he was 6 months old. He even sees an elevator and screams bloody murder because he has come to associate elevators with doctors. When the visit is over the little &^%$ then smiles and waves goodbye to the evaluators as we walk out the door. In the meantime I bit my nails down to nubs as I silently begged Eli to PLEASE behave. We leave exhausted, with a pounding headache, ready to chain smoke and wishing for a stiff drink.

I must say that I did warn the director of the chaos that she may encounter anyway.. God bless her, she just smiled and said she has seen it all; that Eli can’t be that bad. After all, he looks sooooo cute! Ha! You just wait lady!

Despite my reservations, I still hope that little man will pleasantly surprise me as he has done before. That he will show them that he has his short comings but he has just as much potential as everyone else there does.

So PLEASE wish me luck! We’ll need it!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robin
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 01:15:42

    Sending you positive vibes. Lots of luck to you and Elias. Hoping and praying for that pleasant surprise.

    Reply

  2. suzannesan
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 22:33:53

    Hang in there lady! He is a cutie too. It appears you are sticking to your New Year’s resolutions.
    I resolved not to make resolutions, just so that I wouldn’t feel awful if I broke them; now I just celebrate every small success that comes along. It’s much easier that way. If I wait for big ones all the time, I could live a very sad life; no one wants to live that way.
    Got my fingers crossed for you guys. BTW, how are the new apps working?
    Suzannesan

    Reply

    • laviejita78
      Jan 10, 2012 @ 23:24:16

      Hi Suzanne,
      Everything went really well thank God and Eli will start the new school on the 16th! Wish us luck!
      We are still getting him used to the IPad so that can eventually use the apps, but he seems to be very interested!
      Hope you are doing well!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

