The Candidates and The Issues (Pigs must be flying)

Usually I try to keep politics out of conversation since everyone is entitled to their own opinions..
However, with pictures of the GOP candidates plastered all over the news and their every word being analyzed, I can’t help to wonder what their views are on the disabled.
According to the The American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD) there are 54 million Americans living in our nation with disabilities. That’s about 19% of the population. That’s a pretty significant part of the population!

Anyone that knows me well will tell you that I am a steadfast Democrat; I always have been. However, I must admit that I have my doubts that the President will get reelected. Nope! I won’t get into it as to why because I don’t want to get into a huge political debate. This post isn’t about criticizing anyone in particular. I am in the unique position that I no longer care what party affiliation the candidate has. At this point, my vote will go to whoever has the best ideas on education, the middle class and the disabled. (Wow I can’t believe I said that! Pigs must be flying!)

20120108-231538.jpg

Anyway, I decided to google it to see what I could find. I found the AAPD’s Presidential Candidate Questionaire. It lists many important questions relevant to the disabled for the candidates to answers involving employment, unemployment, technology, education, etc. I couldn’t find any answers to these questions yet so I kept looking and I found several videos on You Tube of Sam Wessels, a little boy with autism, asking each of the GOP candidate what their views are and what they would do for people like him.

20120108-233850.jpg

The most recent information that I could find on the President’s actions are from an article on the disabled and jobs. There was much more from when he was campaigning, but I thought that something more recent from after being elected was more fitting.

For easy perusing here are the links for the videos of each of the remaining major GOP candidates answers to Sam (Some were more adept at answering than others):

Mitt Romney

Rick Santorum

Ron Paul

Newt Gingrich

So what do you think? I hear the flapping wings of flying pigs at my window as I type that all this leaves me very unimpressed and my vote is still very much on the fence and up in the air…. With the pigs….

Leave a Reply

