Gratitude…

There are days that my children drive me to drink… When I longingly look at my passport and dream of running away to a sun soaked beach that has a big sign that says, “NO KIDS ALLOWED!” Even if it would only be for a day…

20120110-231206.jpg

Ok so that isn’t exactly realistic, but I would settle with for being able to go to the bathroom without an audience or just to read a book in peace for an hour…. I look at my best friend from high school (no kids yet). She talks about all the exotic places that she has travelled to and all the wonderful experiences she has encountered as she lives abroad…. I think to myself…”Wow… what I would do to live life that carefree again!” No screaming kids, no worries, no IEP’s or major stress for that matter. Sigh, it does sound kind of nice, doesn’t it? I usually feel that way after a particularly trying day at work or maybe after talking to Eli’s teacher about how he pushed a little girl to ground because he grabbed her toy, or after paying the bills.

Before I become a pitiful mass of snotty tears, I stop what I am doing and look at this picture:

20120110-224019.jpg

My mom had snapped the picture as she babysat for me one night while I went out with my aunt and cousin. The minis had a fun filled day touring Charleston during one of the hottest summers on record. Still, they were sad that Mommy wasn’t there to put them to bed so they just passed out while they tried to wait for me and watched cartoons. When I came back from my evening out my mom showed me this picture and it literally made my heart swell with love and gratitude.

I realized that I made these beautiful, perfect little creatures. I carried them for 9 months and besides Hubby no one else knows them as well as I do. They love me when I am happy Mommy and sad Mommy.. When I laugh and when I yell… When I look hideous and when I am done up and ready to go to work. After a long day at work they come running to me to strangle me with bear hugs and cover my face with kisses. They are love in its most perfect form. They are mine and I love them fiercely.

After I stared at this picture the first time I saw it, I forgot about the palm trees and quietly snuggled up next to them, falling asleep and holding their hands….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jose Missas
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 20:07:49

    De nuevo viejita i love you i love you you are doing a great job. This should be a book in the future
    Tu papa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

